Skip to Main Content

Concord-Carlisle High School Learning Commons

Welcome

Welcome to the CCHS Learning Commons!

Opening hours: Monday-Wednesday from 7:00-4:00 and Thursday-Friday from 7:00-3:00.

Scroll down to use the Destiny Library Catalog to search for books, to access the Sora application for ebooks and audio books, or to use the databases for research.

Catalog Search

Sora: eBooks and Audio Books

 eBooks and Audio Books

Sora is a reading and listening website and app from OverDrive and Concord-Carlisle High School. With Sora, students and staff can access a large collection of eBooks and audio books for independent reading. Students can read or listen to these books using a computer, phone, or eReader. 

Step 1: Go to the Sora website 

Go to the Sora website at www.soraapp.com/welcome/login/202898

Step 2: Scroll down the list to select Concord-Carlisle Regional High School

Step 3: Sign in

Sign in using your school concordcarlisle.org email

Step 4: Browse and borrow

Search for a book or browse. Once you have selected a book, click borrow.  Your book will open and you can start reading right away.

Step 5: Go to your shelf to see all of your books

  • Tap Open Book or Open Audio Book to read or listen to the book where you left off.
  • Tap Options to renew or return a book, get to your notes and highlights, and more.

Want more help? Stop by the LC and see Dr. Cicchetti or Dr. Wilson.

Database Passwords

Database Passwords

Databases are password protected because they are paid content. To access username/password information for our paid resources log in with your school email. Questions? Stop by the LC and speak with Dr. Cicchetti or Dr. Wilson.

Research and Databases

Gale Databases

Gale InfoTrac offers a variety of databases. Read the descriptions to find the database that best meets your information needs. General OneFile and Academic OneFile are two you should always include in your search. When on the school campus the login is automatic through this link. No username/password necessary.

 JSTOR Article Search

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

  Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni is the replacement database for LexisNexis. It can be accessed by the above link (on campus only).

 Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 

SSRN is a multi-disciplinary online repository of scholarly research and related materials. This is a great resource for peer reviewed work awaiting publication. SSRN, like other preprint services, circulates publications throughout the scholarly community at an early stage, permitting the author to incorporate comments into the final version of the paper before its publication in a journal. Moreover, even if access to the published paper is restricted, access to the original working paper remains open through SSRN.

 Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) 

The Education Resources Information Center is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education. Free access.

Citation

 

Create a free account using MyBib. Then go to the Chrome Web Store and download the MyBib Chrome extension.

Choosing a Citation Style 

Why are there different citation styles? Why does it matter?

MLA

The Modern Language Association (MLA) provides a method for source documentation that is used in most humanities courses. The humanities place emphasis on authorship, so most MLA citation involves recording the author’s name in the physical text. The author’s name is also the first to appear in the “Works Cited” page at the end of an essay. The most recent MLA formatting can be found in the seventh edition of the MLA manual.

APA

The American Psychological Association (APA) provides a method for source documentation that is used in most social sciences courses. The social sciences place emphasis on the date a work was created, so most APA citation involves recording the date of a particular work in the physical text. The date is usually placed immediately after the author’s name in the “References” page at the end of an essay. The most recent APA formatting can be found in the sixth edition of the APA manual.

General Book Citation

MLA

Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore’s Dilemma. New York: Penguin Group, 2006. Print.  

APA

Pollan, M. (2006). The omnivore’s dilemma. New York, NY: Penguin Group.

Source: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/949/01/