Skip to main content

CCHS LC Lib Guide

Welcome to the CCHS LC Lib Guide.

The CCHS Learning Commons

 Hours

Monday - Friday 7:00 - 3:30

Welcome back!

 

To access all passwords click this link and log in with your concordcarlisle.org email address.

NoodleTools :

NoodleTools helps you organize all your research needs from start to finish.  Create an account or re-validate your old account. If you have any problems or questions email or stop by and talk to any member of the Learning Commons staff. We are here to help!

Students who attended Concord Middle Schools should see Dr. Cicchetti to have their account transferred to CCHS. 

Students who attended middle school in Boston or Carlisle will need to create a new account.

To create a new account or revalidate your account enter the school username/password.

Passwords can be found here. Log in using your concordcarlisle.org email address.

Learning Commons Staff

Dr. Cicchetti
Head Librarian
(rcicchetti@concordcarlisle.org)

Ms. Franke
Library Assistant 

(lfranke@concordcarlisle.org)

 

Short and Simple : )

  • Passes are limited and available on a first come, first serve basis
  • Academic work must be in evidence
  • Students are required to sign in/out for attendance purposes
  • Check out up to 10 books at a time, more if you need them for a project
  • Sit in chairs, not the laps of others
  • Inside voices
  • School-wide policy: Food, drinks, and snacks in the cafeteria only
  • Be nice to each other, be nice to the librarians. Niceness is contagious

 : )

CCHS Learning Commons Policies

The Learning Commons is a technology-rich area devoted to supporting students in meeting the school goals and learning expectations for 21st -century skills. Students have full access to web-based coursework, as well as a full production media lab for multimedia productions. Librarians are always on hand to support student work, research, and digital projects, help solve issues with various student accounts and facilitate learning. 

The Learning Commons Department web page is designed to provide 24/7 support for students when and where they work. Embedded tutorials help answer questions, and the librarian is available via email for specific student questions.


THE LIBRARY COLLECTION
The CCHS Library has an extensive collection of print, e-book, database and audio resources. Students have access to a wide range of databases that provide full access to periodicals, newspapers and scholarly research material. Librarians are always available to support students in research activities. The fiction and graphic novel collections are extensive and developed to support curriculum assigned reading and to foster a love of reading. 


COMMUNITY SERVICE OPPORTUNITY 
Students wishing to obtain Community Service hours may do so by working in the Learning Commons. Students may volunteer as a level 1 teaching assistant which involves helping the librarians with small projects, circulation, attendance, and keeping the LC tidy.  If you are interested in volunteering in the Learning Commons, please speak with a librarian.


EXPECTATIONS

Courtesy to one and all

Students in directed study are required to sign in and out for attendance purposes

No food or drink, as per school-wide policy

The LC gets crowded and students may have to wait for access

Technology use is expected to be consistent with the CCHS Guidelines of Acceptable Use

Students may lose privileges if there are problems with attendance or behavior 


CHECKING OUT MATERIAL

All material leaving the library MUST be checked out. Student may check out up to 10 books at a time. The materials must be returned in 3 weeks. Material may be renewed if another student does not reserve them. 


OVERDUE & LATE FEES

Overdue Notices will be sent out by student email. 


LOST OR DAMAGED ITEMS

Students are charged a replacement cost for lost and/or damaged material.

Spring has sprung! Time to return books!

March 2018 Improving the Quality of Your Information Using Google Scholar

October-November 2017 - Halloween Costumes, Axis360, Thanksgiving gratitude

September 2017 - Welcome back! Information on databases, NYT & Washington Post

June 2017 - What are you reading?

Loading ...

Database Passwords

Databases are password protected because they are paid content. To access username/password information for our paid resources log in with your school email. Questions? Stop by the LC and speak with Dr. Cicchetti or Ms. Franke.

Database Passwords

NoodleTools

NoodleTools

NoodleTools helps you organize all your research needs from start to finish.  Create an account, or re-validate your old account. If you have any problems or questions email or stop by and talk to any member of the Learning Commons staff. We are here to help! 

DATABASES

GALE DATABASES

 

Gale Databases - Gale InfoTrac offers a variety of databases. Read the descriptions to find the database that best meets your information needs. General OneFile and Academic OneFile are two you should always include in your search. Login is automatic through this link. No username/password necessary.

If you get an error message when you open Greenr, try clicking again. That should clear the error and opent he database.

JoVE

Additional Databases

Scholarly Resources

SSRN - Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a multi-disciplinary online repository of scholarly research and related materials. This is a great resource for peer reviewed work awaiting publication. SSRN, like other preprint services, circulates publications throughout the scholarly community at an early stage, permitting the author to incorporate comments into the final version of the paper before its publication in a journal. Moreover, even if access to the published paper is restricted, access to the original working paper remains open through SSRN.

Research Sources on Education

ERIC - The Education Resources Information Center is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education. Free access.

What Works Clearinghouse - Institute of Education Science - The What Works Clearinghouse (WWC), an initiative of USDE's Institute of Education Sciences, is a central, trusted source of information for decision makers. Established in 2002, the WWC reviews and assesses research evidence for educational programs, products, practices, and policies.

Usable Knowledge - Harvard Graduate School of Education - Usable Knowledge is an online resource from the Harvard Graduate School of Education that aims to make education research and best practices accessible to educators, policymakers, members of the media, nonprofit leaders, entrepreneurs, and parents.

 

MLA versus APA

JMPaquette, 2016. MLA vs APA Format.

Difference between MLA and APA Citation Styles

Why are there different citation styles? Why does it matter?

MLA

The Modern Language Association (MLA) provides a method for source documentation that is used in most humanities courses. The humanities place emphasis on authorship, so most MLA citation involves recording the author’s name in the physical text. The author’s name is also the first to appear in the “Works Cited” page at the end of an essay. The most recent MLA formatting can be found in the seventh edition of the MLA manual.

APA

The American Psychological Association (APA) provides a method for source documentation that is used in most social sciences courses. The social sciences place emphasis on the date a work was created, so most APA citation involves recording the date of a particular work in the physical text. The date is usually placed immediately after the author’s name in the “References” page at the end of an essay. The most recent APA formatting can be found in the sixth edition of the APA manual.

General Book Citation

MLA

Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore’s Dilemma. New York: Penguin Group, 2006. Print.  

APA

Pollan, M. (2006). The omnivore’s dilemma. New York, NY: Penguin Group.

Source: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/949/01/

Choosing a Citation Style

 

IANA Root Zone Database

The IANA Root Zone Database allows you to search the internet servers of other countries. Using Google advanced search, you can choose English, and the site domain of the country you are researching. This is a great way to get a non-US perspective on issues.

IANA Root Zone Database